BlackBird Styled Shoot

   
    
 

Dare to be a little different – And so the aptly titled theme of “BlackBird” was conceptualised for this creative wedding photoshoot.

We took inspiration from Pantones 2018 subpalette by using nudes, muted tones and… of course black, all creating a comforting, warm welcoming ambiance, and of course setting the perfect tone for Autumn.

Black! …. Not the first colour anyone turns to when considering their wedding theme, however, Incorporating & accessorising wedding dress design with black is huge as far as 2018 trends go. Yes, we did take it to the extreme, just a little, by choosing a completely black dress, but we couldn’t resist, and with the weightlessness of the dress literally taking off in flight in front of the lens made it look perfectly ethereal.

While we were at it, we thought that we would push the boundaries a little with the Grooms suit, by using two looks, the first being a little luxuriously playful with a gorgeous colour pop, patterned shirt and funky wooden bowtie. The second look being a little more demure, and not too formal by doing away with tie and jacket, yet still creating a dapper elegant presence.

The cake tied in perfectly with the less is more elegant theme and was set off with a pop of succulents, itself looking like a piece of the carefully put together décor puzzle.

Flowers, a key element of wedding décor; 2017 saw the greenery / tropicana theme explode into, home décor, fabric prints, table settings, social media wallpapers and of course this followed through into wedding décor & stationary. Mostly with white and green leaves taking centrepieces flower walls and hanging arrangements… and don’t forget the flower crown to new levels.

2018 flower trends are loving colour, bold and vibrant statements, think peonies, local & indigenous succulents mixed with dead foliage that has been foraged, painted and styled with inspiration taken from ikebana, mandalas and nature put together with non-symmetry & no rules, embracing eclectic.

The positive spin on this is that is it cost effective for you, great for the environment and the theme lends itself to being extremely creative making your wedding décor uniquely you!

In an age where all sorts of wedding traditions are being challenged… we asked… why not tweak another one? And, we are so glad we did…. What do you think? To see the full shoot & let us know what you think go to our FB page and leave a comment.

 

 

 

Thank you to the following creatives that got together to make the magic:

Photographers: Brad from Brad Peens Photography bradpeens@gmail.com | Reino from Eclipse Photography reino@eclipsephotography.co.za

Dress: Jason Kieck Designs jason@jasonkieck.com

Mens Wear: Delbro Premium info@delbropremium.co.za

Bow Tie: Scribes Manufacturing scribescreative@gmail.com

Hair & Make Up: Bliss Hair & skincare reception@blisshd.com

Decor & Set Styling: Covet Projects chanel@covetprojects.co.za

Cake: Perfectly Crafted info@perfectlycrafted.co.za

Photobooth (Behind The Scenes): Amuse Photo Booths amuse.party@gmail.com

Models: Trystan Claire Bain and Matthew Lombard